World Amateur Ballroom Championship 1939 in Munich, a short video clip

Winners were John Wells (Elsa Wells’ brother) with Renee Sissons. They won it for the sixth time in a row (they also won Blackpool five times and were second once …1932-1937). Next were Otto and Inge Teipel, the German Champions at the time.

1. John Wells/Renee Sissons, Great Britain

2. Otto und Inge Teipel, Germany

3. Kokoska/Jirovcova, Czech Republic (formerly Czechoslovakia)

4. Louis Aasted Halse/Andersen, Denmark

5. Albert Schmucki/Trudi Kaufmann, Switzerland

Brigitt Mayer-Karakis is the author of the award winning book "Ballroom Icons", and chief archivist for the WDC Dance History project.
Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Your name is required

Please enter a valid email address

An email address is required

Please enter your message

WDC DanceArchives © 2020 All Rights Reserved

The definitive archives of ballroom dancing